Return to: UMC Home
Insert Banner.gif in Images folder
Faculty & Staff > Academic Advising For Faculty > University of Minnesota

University of Minnesota

Introduction to University of Minnesota
Administrative Structure

The University of Minnesota was founded in 1851 as a preparatory school, and predates statehood by eight years. The University of Minnesota is the state’s land grant institution and one of the most comprehensive public universities in United States. The University has five campuses: Crookston, Duluth, Morris, Rochester, and Twin Cities.


Administrative Structure

The University of Minnesota is governed by a 12 member Board of Regents. The state legislature elects one Regent from each of Minnesota’s eight congressional districts and four from the state at large. The President is appointed by the Board to implement Board policy and serves as the University’s Chief Executive. Coordinate campus Chancellors, upon approval of the Board, are appointed by the President and the Senior Vice President for System Administration.