Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

Chowdry and Sather Scholarship Recipients Named at the U of M, Crookston
April 14, 2008

Contact: Contact: Corby Kemmer, director of development and alumni relations, 218-281-8434 (, Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director of communications, 218-281-8432 (

Crookston, Minn. (April 14, 2008) – Scholarship recipients were recently named by the University of Minnesota, Crookston for the Chowdry and Sather scholarships, two prestigious scholarships offered on the campus.

Students receiving the Chowdry Scholarship must demonstrate exceptional potential to become successful in the business world. Applicants for the scholarship were required to write a biographical sketch, essay and show other evidence of economic promise.

Four recipients of the Chowdry Scholarship will receive a $5,000 award. They are Alexandria Bell, Milwaukee, Wis.; Kari Hoffman; Daniel Peterson, Ogilvie, Minn.; and Stephen Roerick, Swanville, Minn. Receiving a $2,500 scholarship are Tammy Bellanger.; Jenna Benoit, Crookston, Minn.; Ryan Ellingson, Wadena, Minn.; and Kerry Fredrich, New Holstein, Wis.; Kyle Johnson; and Mariam Maiga, Crookston, Minn. each received a $2,000 scholarship.

Michael Chowdry was born in Pakistan, immigrated to the United States, and in 1978, graduated from the U of M, Crookston with a degree in agricultural aviation. He founded Atlas Air, Inc., in 1992 and served as its chairman, president and CEO. He established the Michael A. Chowdry Entrepreneurial Scholarship Fund in 1998 to help support students interested in entrepreneurship. Tragically, Mr. Chowdry was killed in an airplane crash on January 24, 2001.

Students receiving the Russell O. and Inez Sather Memorial Scholarship must be advanced standing students maintaining at least a 3.0 grade point average and having graduated from a high school in Polk, Norman, Red Lake, Pennington, Marshall, Mahnomen, Clearwater, Roseau or Kittson counties. Applicants were required to write an essay on an experience or person who has had a major impact on their life.

Four $1,500 scholarships from the Sather Scholarship Fund were awarded to Ryan Fisher, Plummer, Minn.; Tamara Luna, Crookston, Minn.; Megan Purrington, Ada, Minn.; and Kaarina Visness, Karlstad, Minn.

Dr. Russell Sather began serving as an internist with the Northwestern Clinic in Crookston in 1937. He was called to active duty during World War II from 1942 until 1946 and returned to Crookston in 1947 where he continued to practice until 1985. The scholarship was established in 1986.

The University of Minnesota, Crookston (UMC) delivers more than 25 applied-science undergraduate degree programs and 50 concentrations, including several online degrees, in agriculture; arts, humanities and social sciences; business; math, science and technology; and natural resources. Invent yourself at the University of Minnesota, Crookston – become a leader, innovate through technology and research and secure the career you want. To learn more, visit