Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

Division II ADA Announces Inaugural Academic Achievement Award Winners
August 18, 2008

Contact: Mitch Bakken- Sports Information Director (218) 281-8414

Cleveland, Ohio -- The Division II Athletics Directors Association (DII ADA) announced the inaugural recipients of the DII ADA Academic Achievement Awards presented by WeatherPORT. The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

Sixty-seven institutions participated in the 2007-08 awards program and 2188 student-athletes were recognized. The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) had a record number 214 student-athletes honored, followed by the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) with 212 nominees.

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution MUST BE a CURRENT dues paying member of the DII ADA.

Also, the student-athlete must:
*  have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
*  have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work
*  have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year

“We want to thank those colleges and universities that took part in honoring its student-athletes,” stated DII ADA President Ed Matejkovic, director of athletics at West Chester University. “Our Association would like to congratulate those student-athletes that earned an Academic Achievement Award for 2007-08. We look forward to continued participation in the years to come.”

University of Minnesota, Crookston inaugural Division II ADA Academic Achievement Award recipients:
Theresa Crance- Women's Basketball/Volleyball
Megan Hannon- Soccer
Jenae Hanson- Equestrian
Jessica Hanson- Equestrian
Tammy Johnson- Women’s Tennis
Joey Kollar- Men’s Basketball
Lincoln Messner- Baseball
Aaron Smith- Men’s Basketball
Nicole Veres- Equestrian

About DII ADA: The DII ADA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division II athletics directors. For more information about the DII ADA, please visit The DII ADA is administered by NACDA. In its 44th year, NACDA is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers 11 professional associations for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics director.

Contact:  Julie Work, Director of Communications, NACDA (, 440-892-4000).

For more information, visit the Golden Eagle Athletics Web site at

The University of Minnesota, Crookston is a NCAA Division II Institution and a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC). Golden Eagle Hockey is a member of the Midwest Collegiate Hockey Association (MCHA). The Golden Eagle Equestrian team is a member of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA).