Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

2008 Ed Widseth and Agassiz Bowl Scholarship Recipients Recognized at the University of Minnesota, Crookston
September 8, 2008

Contact: Mitch Bakken- Sports Information Director (218) 281-8414

(Crookston, Minn.)- The University of Minnesota, Crookston Athletic Department recognized the recipients of the 2008 Ed Widseth and Agassiz Bowl Scholarships on Saturday, September 6 at half-time of the Minnesota, Crookston and Mayville State University Football game.

Ed Widseth, a Gonvick, Minn. native who began his football career here in the fall of 1929 at the Northwest School of Agriculture, went on to star for the Minnesota Gophers and was a Co-Captain of the 1936 National Championship Team. Ed was actually a candidate for the Heisman Award and was on Lindy's All-Century Team for Defensive Line. He was the first player drafted by the New York Giants in 1937 and played five years in the National Football League (NFL). Ed was the NFL MVP in 1938.  A member of the National Collegiate Hall of Fame, Widseth also was selected in 1991 as a charter member of the Gopher’s Men’s Sports Hall of Fame and as one of the 20 greatest Gopher athletes ever. In1997 UMC and Crookston High School honored Ed by dedicating the football field in his name. Ed passed away in 1998 at the age of 86. The Ed Widseth Scholarship recognizes those qualities epitomized by Ed Widseth – outstanding athletic, leadership and academic achievements.  A scholarship of $1,500 is awarded, with preference, to incoming freshman or college transfer football player and is renewable for up to 4 years.  A minimum GPA of 3.0 is required to receive this distinguished award. The 2008 award winners are Cody Hendrickson, Scott Steuck, Baba Maiga and Kolby Gruhot. For more information about the Ed Widseth Scholarship Endowment Fund, contact Dan Svedarsky at (218) 281-8129.

Cody Hendrickson (Wright, Minn.)
Cody Hendrickson is a 5’10, 185 lb, defensive back, from Cromwell-Wright High School in the Great Northern Conference. He was a 2005, 2006, 2007 All-Conference team member. Following the 2006 and 2007 seasons, Hendrickson was named an All-Conference MVP back, an AP All-State defensive back and a Duluth News Tribune All-Area team member. Following his senior season, he earned recognition as a Mr. Football finalist. Hendrickson plans to major in Health Sciences (Pre-Physical Therapy) at the University of Minnesota, Crookston. He is the son of William and Michelle Hendrickson.

Scott Steuck (Dassel, Minn.)
Scott Steuck is a 6’6, 255 lb, offensive lineman from Dassal-Cokato High School in the Wright County Conference. Steuck plans to major in Education at the University of Minnesota, Crookston. He is the son of Sue and Tim Steuck of Dassal, Minn.

Baba Maiga (Crookston, Minn.)
Maiga is a 6’4, 230 lb, tight end from Crookston Central High School in the Northern Lakes Conference. He is a three-sport athlete lettering in football (2 years), basketball (3 years) and golf (2 years). Maiga earned All-Conference Honorable Mention honors in football and basketball and was a member of the Pirate sub-section champion golf team. In the classroom, he is a member of the Honor Roll and the Crookston Central Leo Club. Maiga plans to major in Health Sciences (Pre-Dentistry) at the University of Minnesota, Crookston. He is the son of Kadiatou Diarisso and Harouna Maiga.

Kolby Gruhot (Argyle, Minn.)
Kolby Gruhot is a 6’2, 240 lb, defensive lineman from Stephen-Argyle Central High School in the Top of the State Conference. During his high school tenure, he was named the Most Valuable Lineman, an All-Conference player and a two-time 9-Man All-State recipient. Gruhot was recognized as a Minnesota Vikings All-State team member and is a four-time 9-Man State Champion with the Stephen-Argyle “Storm”. Gruhot plans to major in Agricultural Business at the University of Minnesota, Crookston. He is the son of Gary and Jane Gruhot.

The Crookston Chamber Agassiz Bowl Scholarship is a $600 scholarship presented to a student-athlete preferably from the local area. The Crookston Chamber Agribusiness sponsors this scholarship and is working hard to promote agriculture and strengthen the very important relationship with the University of Minnesota, Crookston. The 2008 recipient of the Crookston Chamber Agassiz Bowl Scholarship is Kolby Gruhot.

For more information, visit the Golden Eagle Athletics website at