Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

University of Minnesota, Crookston Inducts the 1989-90 Women's Basketball Team into the Athletic Hall of Fame
October 7, 2008

Contact: Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director of communications, 218-281-8432 ( Stephanie Onken, communications assistant, 218-281-8446 (

The University of Minnesota, Crookston honored two individuals and one team with an induction into the Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday, September 26. This ceremony took place during the U of M, Crookston’s Homecoming week, September 22-27. Included in the induction was the 1989-90 Women’s Basketball Team.

The 1989-90 Women’s Basketball Team, under the direction of Coach Janna Hjelseth and Assistant Coach Tina Bergene, won the 1990 Minnesota Community College State Championship held at Itasca Community College winning against Bethany Lutheran College in the finals with a score of 71-63. The team finished third in the Region 13 tournament. Natalie Ueland and Beth Misegades were named to the 1990 All-State team, the Northwest All-Division Team and to the All-Tournament Team.

Homecoming week also included a naming ceremony for the Sargeant Student Center also took place, where the Student Center was officially named after Chancellor Emeritus Donald Sargeant as well as
a concert by the band 32 Below, bonfire and pep fest, a homecoming parade and tailgate parties for Teambackers and students. To round out the week the U of M, Crookston Golden Eagles defeated the Minnesota State University-Moorhead Dragons 20-16 in a football match-up.

The University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers more than 25 applied-science bachelor degree programs and 50 concentrations, including several online degrees, in agriculture; arts, humanities and social sciences; business; math, science and technology; and natural resources. Invent yourself at the University of Minnesota, Crookston – become a leader, innovate through technology and research and secure the career you want. To learn more, visit