Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

Two Faculty Members from U of M, Crookston Honored at Minnesota State FFA Convention
April 27, 2009

Contact: Lyle Westrom, professor, 218-281-8110 (; Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director of communications, 218-281-8432 (

The 80th Annual Minnesota State FFA Convention brings recognition to two faculty members at the University of Minnesota, Crookston on Monday, April 27, 2009. Associate Professor Lyle Westrom, Ph.D., will be inducted into the Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame and Terrill Bradford, animal science instructor, will receive the Minnesota Honorary FFA Degree.

Lyle Westrom, Ph.D.
Lyle Westrom, Ph.D.
Westrom, who teaches in both agricultural education and dairy science at the U of M, Crookston has been a mentor and advisor to countless students over the years. He has worked closely with the Minnesota Agricultural, Food and Environmental Education Teacher Induction Program to serve as a mentor to young agricultural education teachers in high schools. He also serves as the coach for the U of M, Crookston Dairy Team along with the Parliamentary Procedure Team associated with Collegiate FFA Association.

A recipient of the Minnesota Honorary FFA Degree in 1997, Westrom was also honored with the Minnesota Vocational Agriculture Instructors Association (MVAIA) Business and Industry Award in 1998. His doctorate degree in agriculture and extension education is from Mississippi State University and he earned both his master’s and bachelor’s degrees in agricultural education from the University of Minnesota.

Bradford teaches animal science on the Crookston campus. She received a bachelor of
Terrill Bradford
Terrill Bradford
science degree from the University of Minnesota, Crookston in technical studies and North Dakota State University in animal health technology. She completed her master of education degree from the University of Minnesota in agricultural education while employed as a teaching specialist on the Crookston campus.

The Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame tradition began in 1994 providing the opportunity to honor men and women who have demonstrated leadership and influence in the many facets of agriculture and to the FFA. Selection criteria for the Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame includes contributions and service to agriculture and agribusiness as well as to education in agriculture and FFA; leadership in one’s professional career; and leadership and service to related organizations and/or agencies.

Past U of M, Crookston faculty and staff who have been inducted into the Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame include: Founding Provost Stanley Sahlstrom; Dave Hoff, who taught in the Agriculture Department for 38 years; George Nornes, who worked as a recruiter for agriculture on the Crookston campus and was a long time agriculture teacher at the Climax High School.

The Minnesota Honorary FFA Degree is the state’s highest honorary degree. It is given to individuals who have provided exceptional service to agriculture, agricultural education, or the FFA. Also being honored this year is Shawn Linder, a teacher of agriculture in Grand Rapids, Minn., and 2001 graduate from the U of M, Crookston.

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers more than 25 applied-science undergraduate degree programs and 50 concentrations, including several online degrees, in agriculture; arts, humanities and social sciences; business; math, science and technology; and natural resources. To learn more, visit