Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

UMC Students Recognized for Outstanding Achievement and Service
May 6, 2006

Krista Lemos, director of communications, 218-281-8438 (
David Seyfried, assistant professor health management and applied health,
218-281-8370 (

Student Outstanding Achievement Awards Photo Gallery

CROOKSTON, MN (May 9, 2006) - The University of Minnesota, Crookston (UMC) recently honored students with achievement and service awards at the annual Student Awards Reception. The ceremony is held each year to honor those who have made outstanding leadership and service contributions or who have achieved high academic standing at the University's Crookston campus.

Among the recognitions and honors, student organization presidents and members of the Crookston Student Association were recognized for their work during the year.
Eleven students received Student Achievement Awards, which UMC presents to recognize those students who have excelled not only academically, but also through leadership and service to the University and local community. Those students included Austin Aasness, Fergus Falls, MN; Kelli Barnes, Courtenay, ND; Kacee Biederman, Milaca, MN; Erin Flynn, Bloomer, WI; Theresa Crance, Timberlake, SD; Matthew Hiller, Crookston, MN; Pat McCabe. Bloomington, MN; Karna Plaine, Hatton, ND; Charly Reinert, Tracy, MN; Alison Stone, Lakeville, MN; and Jennifer Tepovich, Wabasha, MN.

From that group, two students were named "Man and Woman of the Year," the year's top academic, service and leadership award. Honors go to UMC Man of the Year Matthew Hiller, a graduating senior majoring in business management: management and marketing; and Woman of the Year Alison Stone, a graduating senior majoring in agriculture business with a minor in agronomy. Hiller is the son of the late Jeffrey Hiller and Georgene Hiller of Crookston, MN. Stone is the daughter of Todd Stone of Lakeville, MN and Sharon Stone of Burnsville, MN. The awards were presented by UMC Chancellor Charles H. Casey and Gerhard Ross, president of Crookston Noon Day Lions Club, along with a cash award of $100.

Students also honored selected faculty and staff members with special awards. These awards are significant in that the entire UMC student body votes to select the award recipients. Faculty and staff awards were presented as follows:
Most Creative Use of Technology: Rachel McCoppin, assistant professor of communication;
Most Supportive of Students: Pam Elf, assistant professor of biology;
Outstanding Educator: Kenneth Johnson, business department instructor; and
Outstanding Service to Students: Stacey Grunewald, student health services coordinator.

Additional achievement and service awards were given in the following categories:

UMC Athletic Dept. All Academic Team Awards:

Baseball - Adam Knebel, Warroad, MN; Aaron Motl, Staples, MN; and Kyle Nyquist, Cokato, MN

Men's Basketball - Lee Roberts, Pillager, MN

Women's Basketball - Brittani Boehlke, Waverly, MN; Beth Jacobson, Mayville, ND; Theresa Crance, Timber Lake, SD; Karna Plaine, Hatton, ND; Kari Score, Boyceville, WI; and Carly Score, Boyceville, WI

Football - Ben Aho, Cokato, MN; Nathaniel Emery, Coon Rapids, MN; and Pat McCabe, Bloomington, MN

Hockey - Nate Haskins, Spooner, WI; Wyatt LaVigne (Hockey), Ranier, MN; Brett Shelanski, Bloomington, MN; Dustin Steigauf, Bemidji, MN; and Ryan Tucker, Crookston, MN

Men's Golf - Matthew Hiller, Crookston, MN; and Branden Schwartz, Brooklyn Park, MN

Women's Equestrian - Kelli Barnes, Courtenay, ND; Brianna McKenzie, Staples, MN; Kristi Senterre, Chugiak, AK; Shannon Schoenberger, Detroit Lakes, MN; Jessica Schweitzer, Fremont, WI;
Courtney Sonnek, Minnesota Lake, MN; and Amy Sowada, Wrenshall, MN

Softball - Chris Carlson, Blackduck, MN

Volleyball - Theresa Crance, Timber Lake, SD; and Erin Flynn, Bloomer, WI

UMC Student Ambassadors - Tiffany Anderson, Grand Rapids, MN; Kelli Barnes, Courtenay, ND; James Gapen, Big Lake, MN; Julie Koehl, Morris, MN; Amy Konradi, Round Lake, MN; Jennifer Novak, Sebeka, MN; Corey Ramsden, Sisseton, SD; Jennifer Tepovich, Wabasha, MN; and Amanda Willger, Rice Lake, WI;

Outstanding Tutor Awards - Bethany Tollefson, Beltrami, MN; Amanda Fickes, Sebeka, MN; Annika Ekholm, Eagan, MN; Teng Yang, St. Paul, MN; and Charly Reinert, Tracy, MN

Student Support Services Scholars - Peter Bankole, Blaine, MN; Emily Hasner, Neenah, WI; Camille Jorgenson, Powers Lake, ND; and Stacey Villebro, Hill City, MN

Cooperative Ministry and Fellowship of Christian Athletes - Theresa Crance, Timberlake, SD; and Joe Backowski, Little Falls, MN

Oustanding Achievement in Math and Physics - Amanda Fickes, Sebeka, MN

Excellence in Early Childhood Education - Bernardina Arias, Crookston, MN

Outstanding Business Management and Marketing Students - Kelli Barnes, Courtenay, ND; Erin Flynn, Bloomer, WI; and Branden Schwartz, Brooklyn Park, MN

Students in Free Enterprise (SIFE) Leadership Awards - Tiffany Anderson, Grand Rapids, MN; Matthew Burdick, Coon Rapids, MN; and Amanda Willger, Rice Lake, WI

Hotel Restaurant and Institutional Management - Pene Hargreaves, Grand Forks, ND; and
Marissa Schoepp, Sidney, Montana

Horticulture Club Service Award - Amy Konradi, Round Lake, MN; and Luke Wittkop, Hugo, MN

Mid American Collegiate Horticulture Society - Aimee Grosam, Brownsdale, MN; Amber Werner, Big Lake, MN; Cayla Wieland, Minneapolis, MN; and Luke Wittkop, Hugo, MN

Golf Facilities and Turf Systems Award - Earl Evans, Newton, KS

Norman Pankratz Memorial Conservation Award - Tamara Saxton, Rush City, MN

John Polley Soil and Water Conservation Award - Joe Backowski, Little Falls, MN

Oustanding Equine Science Student - Jessica Schweitzer, Fremont, WI

Outstanding Animal Science Student - Thor Vettleson, Trail, MN

Outstanding Theater Student - Deborah Halstad, Fertile, MN

Outstanding Music Student - Bryan Christensen, Wadena, MN

Outstanding Achievement Music and Theater and Professional Services - Joseph Linder, Plummer, MN

Outstanding English as a Second Language (ESL) Achievement - Hee Kwon Kim, Seoul, Korea

Outstanding English as a Second Language (ESL) Tutor - Matthew Hiller, Crookston, MN

Information Technology Management Achievement - James Gapen, Big Lake, MN

Computer Help Desk Award - Mark Belanger, Pequot Lakes, MN

Study Abroad Awards - Matthew Hiller, Crookston, MN; Sara Schwerim, Aitkin, MN; Alison Stone, Lakeville, MN; Luke Wittkop, Hugo, MN; and Teng Yang, St. Paul, MN

Dale Knotek Community Service Award - Natural Resources Club Members Mary Jo Geldert, Annandale, MN and Jennifer Tepovich, Wabasha, MN

Outstanding Student Volunteer of the Year - Joseph Linder, Plummer, MN

Presidential Student Service Award - Tiffany Anderson, Grand Rapids, MN; Matthew Burdick, Coon Rapids, MN; Bryan Christensen, Wadena, MN; James Gapen, Big Lake, MN; Amy Konradi, Round Lake, MN; Joseph Linder, Plummer, MN; Alison Stone, Lakeville, MN; and Tara Tweten, Warroad, MN

Outstanding Student of Communication - Terry Tollefson, Crookston, MN

Outstanding Student Programmer Award - Karim Wahba, Eagle, CO

Outstanding Crookston Student Association (CSA) Senator - Brooke DeLanghe, Colorado Springs, CO

Outstanding Club Representative - Amanda Willger, Rice Lake, WI

The University of Minnesota, Crookston (UMC) is a four-year baccalaureate degree granting institution, celebrating 100 years of excellence in education, research and outreach. To learn more, visit