Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

Golf Classic Raises $1,500 For UMC Women’s Athletic Scholarship Fund
August 10, 2006

Contact: Krista Lemos, director of communications, 218-281-8438 (;Mitch Bakken, sports information director, 218-281-8414, Fax: 218-281-8430 (

(Crookston, Minn.)- The University of Minnesota, Crookston Athletic Department held its Sixth Annual Women’s Golf Classic at Minakwa Golf Club in Crookston, MN on Tuesday, August 8th.

“We had a great day for the women’s golf tournament. We had more sponsors than ever before and raised approximately $1,500 for the women’s athletic scholarship fund,” says UMC Athletic Director Stephanie Helgeson. “The UMC athletic department would especially like to thank Minakwa, all the businesses, as well as the individuals who sponsored the tournament to make it such a successful day,”

Following the 9-Hole Scramble, golfers enjoyed Hors d’oeuvres served by Minakwa and door prizes donated by area businesses and individuals.

All proceeds go towards the UMC Women’s Athletic Scholarship Fund.

Official Results:
First Place: Karen Murphy, Barb Ricord, Krista Proulx, Judy Brekken

Second Place: Carrie Clauson, Shellie Fischer, Sara Beattie, Brenda Anderson

Third Place: Carol Welter, Renee Tangquist, Stephanie Helgeson, Vicki Walter

Hole sponsors included: Chuck Larson, Marv Bachmeier, Schulz Carpeting, Ampride, Natural Look Salon, AmericInn Motel & Suites, Ness Café (Erskine, MN), Minakwa Grille, Proulx Refrigeration, Heating & Appliance, Kari Odland, American Federal, Lifetime Vison Center (Grand Forks, ND), Corby Kemmer, Bill Tyrrell, Chuck Wilder and McDonald’s.

Prizes were donated by: Videos on Broadway, Salon Elite, Happy Joe’s, Munn’s Jewelry, UMC, Widman’s Candy, RBJ’s, GLS, Gerrell’s Sports Center, North Country Business Products, Studio 108, Hardware Hank, The Hair Gallery, Riverview Healthcare, Dawn Skjei, Limited Additions, Nicholas Collections, Mary Kay-Joyce Beattie, UMC Bookstore, Lia Sophia Jewelry-Judy Brekken, Northland Inn, Pam Ecklund, Crystal Maruska, Brandy Chaffee, Lee Murphy and Karen Murphy.

First Place Team
First Place Team
Second Place Team
Second Place Team


Thrid Place Team
Third Place Team