Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

2007 Ed Widseth and Agassiz Bowl Scholarship Recipients Recognized at the University of Minnesota, Crookston
October 22, 2007

Contact: Mitch Bakken- Sports Information Director (218) 281-8414

(Crookston, Minn.)- The University of Minnesota, Crookston Athletic Department recognized the recipients of the Ed Widseth and Agassiz Bowl Scholarships this weekend at half-time of the Minnesota, Crookston and Northern State University football game.


Ed Widseth, a Gonvick native who began his football career here in the fall of 1929 at the Northwest School of Agriculture, went on to star for the Minnesota Gophers and was a Co-Captain of the 1936 National Championship Team. Ed was actually a candidate for the Heisman Award and was on Lindy's All-Century Team for Defensive Line. He was the first player drafted by the New York Giants in 1937, he played five years in the NFL. Ed was the NFL MVP in 1938.  A member of the National Collegiate Hall of Fame, Widseth also was selected in 1991 as a charter member of the Gopher’s Men’s Sports Hall of Fame and as one of the 20 greatest Gopher athletes ever. In1997 UMC and Crookston High School honored Ed by dedicating the football field in his name. Ed passed away in 1998 at the age of 86. The Ed Widseth Scholarship recognizes those qualities epitomized by Ed Widseth – outstanding athletic, leadership and academic achievements.  A scholarship of $1,500 is awarded, with preference, to incoming freshman or college transfer football player and is renewable for up to 4 years.  A minimum GPA of 3.0 is required to receive this distinguished award. The 2007 award winners are Cody Brekken, Frank Johnson, Sean McDonald and Riley Zsedeny.


Cody Brekken (Crookston, Minn.)

Cody Brekken is a 5’11, 170 lb, outside linebacker, from Crookston High School of the Northern Lakes Conference. As a junior, Brekken was an All -Conference selection and selected as Crookston High’s Defensive MVP.  As a senior, he earned All-Conference honors, All-State Honorable Mention, Northern Lakes Conference MVP, along with being voted Defensive MVP, Team MVP and the Most Dedicated for Crookston High School.


Brekken plans to major in Sport and Recreation Management and minor in Coaching. He is the son of Allen and Anita Brekken.


Frank Johnson (Delano, Minn.)

Frank Johnson is a 6’1, 300 lb, offensive lineman, from Rockford High School of the Central Minnesota Conference. During his high school career he was named Defensive Team MVP and he was named 2nd Team All-Conference.


Johnson plans to major in Accounting. He is the son of Sheri and Dan Johnson.


Sean McDonald (Edwards, Calif.)

Sean McDonald is a 5’11, 175 lb, quarterback from Desert High School of the High Desert League. He was named to the All-High Desert League team in 2005 and 2006.


McDonald plans to major in Aviation. He is the son of Dan and Lois McDonald of Plattsmouth, NE.


Riley Zsedeny (Pelican Rapids, Minn.)

Riley Zsedeny is a 6’1", 315 lb, defensive tackle out of Pelican Rapids High School. He was a starting member of a Pelican Rapids football team that won the Heart O’ Lakes Conference three years in a row and was a Section 8 runner-up two years in a row. Academically he was a member of the tri-college math team for six years in high school.


Zsedeny plans to major in Wildlife Management. He is the son of Gene and Linda Zsedeny.


The Crookston Chamber Agassiz Bowl Scholarship is a $600 scholarship presented to a student-athlete preferably from the local area. The Crookston Chamber Agribusiness sponsors this scholarship and is working hard to promote agriculture and strengthen the very important relationship with the University of Minnesota, Crookston. The 2007 recipient of the Crookston Chamber Agassiz Bowl Scholarship is Riley Zsedeny.


For more information, visit the Golden Eagle Athletics website at


The University of Minnesota, Crookston is a NCAA Division II Institution and a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC). Golden Eagle Hockey is a member of the Midwest Collegiate Hockey Association (MCHA). The Golden Eagle Equestrian team is a member of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA).