Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

Golden Eagle Tennis Team Opens Season on Friday
February 5, 2008

Contact: Chris Vito - Assistant Sports Information Director - (218)281-8445

(Crookston, Minn.) – The University of Minnesota, Crookston Tennis team will open up the 2008 season on Friday, February 8 when they travel to Fargo, N.D. to take on Minnesota State University Moorhead in a Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) match.  Things will get underway at 6:00 pm at the Courts Plus Fitness Center in Fargo, N.D.


The Golden Eagles return four players from last season’s team including number one singles player Jacqueline Noah (Jr, Crookston, Minn.). Other returnees are Vanessa Houle (Sr, Ashland, Wis.), Susan Turner (Sr, Granite Falls, Minn.) and Kim Anderson (So, Atwater, Minn.).


Newcomers for 2008 season include Christa Nitsch (So, Becker, Minn.), a transfer from Northwestern College in Roseville, Minn., Melissa Mackedanz (Fr, Spicer, Minn.) and Tammy Johnson (Fr, Tamarack, Minn.).


The doubles line-up will consist of Noah and Nitsch at the number one position. Noah placed third in the Minnesota State High School doubles tournament her senior year. The number two doubles position will be played by senior captains Houle and Turner. The remainder of the line-up is yet to be determined.


First-year head coach Josh Lunak is excited about the upcoming year. “I think we are a very inexperienced team compared to our competition but we are improving everyday in practice” says Coach Lunak. “If we keep working hard everyday, we will continue to improve as the season goes on. Our first match against Minnesota State Moorhead will be at true test to see where we stand in the NSIC.”


For more information, visit the Golden Eagle Athletics website at


The University of Minnesota, Crookston is a NCAA Division II Institution and a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC). Golden Eagle Hockey is a member of the Midwest Collegiate Hockey Association (MCHA). The Golden Eagle Equestrian team is a member of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA).