Return to: UMC Home
UMC LogoUMC News

Golden Eagles Drop MCHA-Harris Cup Playoff to Marian College in Overtime
February 22, 2008

Contact: Chris Vito - Assistant Sports Information Director - (218)281-8445

(Crookston, Minn.) – The University of Minnesota, Crookston Men’s Hockey team scored first and played strong with host Marian College. However, the host Sabres got an even strength goal from James Goodfellow 3:47 into overtime as Marian won 3-2 tonight in Fond du Lac, Wis. in a first round MCHA-Harris Cup Playoff game.


U of M, Crookston got on the board first at 2:12 of the first period when Matt Waclawik (So, Fwd, Fergus Falls, Minn.) scored an even-strength goal off assists from Fred Kooser (So, Fwd, Omaha, Neb.) and Matt Marchel (So, Def, Grand Forks, N.D.).


Marian College tied the game 3:27 into the second period when Brendan Hull scored a power play goal. They took the lead at 14:00 of the second off an even-strength goal from Carl Bresser.


U of M, Crookston’s Teal Plaine (Sr, Fwd, Hallock, Minn.) sent the game to overtime 3:25 into the third period with an even-strength goal. He was assisted by Matt Hann (Sr, Fwd, Crookston, Minn.).


Things seemed to being going the way of the Golden Eagles until Goodfellow scored his goal at 3:37 to take home the victory.


Eric Everson (Jr, G, Stevens Point, Wis.) had 44 saves for U of M, Crookston.


The Golden Eagles and the Sabres will meet again tomorrow at 4:30 pm. A Marian win or tie will advance the Sabres to the MCHA-Harris Cup Final Four. If U of M, Crookston wins, it will force a mini-game with the winner advancing.


Saturday’s game will be broadcast on KROX Radio – 1260 AM. Frank Fee will call the play by play. The game is also available via podcast at


For more information, visit the Golden Eagle Athletics website at


The University of Minnesota, Crookston is a NCAA Division II Institution and a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC). Golden Eagle Hockey is a member of the Midwest Collegiate Hockey Association (MCHA). The Golden Eagle Equestrian team is a member of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA).