Return to: UMC Home


UMC Awards: Student-Athletes of the Year
Each year the UMC Athletics Advisory Committee selects the most outstanding individuals (usually one male and one female) who have distinguished themselves--both in their respective sport(s) and in their academic performance to receive the Student Athlete of the Year Award. Criteria for the award include excellence in their respective sport or sports and a 3.2 cumulative GPA or higher.

Past UMC Student-Athlete of the Year Recipients

2016 Alexa Thielman, Buffalo, MN, and Drew Selvestra, Eagan, MN 
2015 Ashley Martell, Somerset, WI, and Matt Borowicz, Stephen, MN
2014 Katie Sheetz, Grand Rapids, MN, and Jesse Jennings, Robbinsdale, MN
2013 Almir Krdzalic, Sioux Falls, SD, and Chelsea Wiesner, Rochester, MN
2012  Almir Krdzalic, Sioux Falls, SD
, and Megan Eul, Rosemount, MN
2011  Cody Brekken, Crookston, MN, and Katie Bowar, Moorhead, MN 
2010  Cody Brekken, Crookston, MN, and Kayla Bowar, Moorhead, MN
2009  Cody Brekken, Crookston, MN, and Nicole Veres, Random Lake, WI
2008  Joey Kollar of Norwood-Young America, MN and Theresa Crance of Timber Lake, SD
2007  Brett Shelanski of Bloomington, MN, and Danika Kent of Lancaster, MN
2006  R.J. Rollins of Anchorage, AK, and Joan Ebnet of Pequot Lakes, MN
2005  Brock Anundson of Baudette, MN, and Karna Plaine of Hatton, ND
 Troy Berneking of Grand Marais, MN, and Christie Chappell of Almonte, ON, Canada
2003  Jay Tupa, Fargo, and Cathy Behr, Willmar
2002  Steven Brandt, Kimball, and Jean Korkowski, Brandon
2001  Steven Brandt, Kimball, and Angela Swanson, Brainerd
2000  Chris Bruggeman, Crookston, and Sheila Roux, Ada
1999  Mark Olsonawski, Hallock, and Stacy Lill
1998  Jason Lindquist, Dalton; Mark Olsonawski, Hallock; and Karla Thormodson, Dalton
1997  Jeremy Engelstad, Gatzke; Ronda Olson, Alvarado; and Chrissy Nettum, Climax
1996  Jesse Maruska, Fosston, and Ronda Olson, Alvarado
1995  Tobias Dewey, Sperling, MB, and Chrissy Nettum, Climax
1994  Ken Essay, and Tricia Swenson, Fertile
1993  Peter Nordell, Danville, CA, and Gina Wardner, Crookston
1992  Darin Marcussen and Ronda Pehling, Walker
1991  Mark Halliday, Crookston, and Kari Torkelson, Thief River Falls