Return to: UMC Home


UMC Awards: Man and Woman of the Year
Each year a group of students is selected to receive Student Achievement Awards, which recognize those students who have excelled not only academically, but also through leadership and service to the University and local community.  The students are nominated by faculty and staff in early spring and then complete an application form where they report their involvement in clubs, activities, services organizations and list awards and achievements.  Each student is ranked in six categories:  GPA, Honors, Leadership, Campus Activities, Community Service, and UMC Service.  The top nominees receive the Student Achievement Awards, and from that group, two students are recognized with the year's top academic and student service award, the Man and Woman of the Year Award.  These students truly are UMC's "best and brightest."

Past UMC Man and Woman of the Year Recipients

2016 - Michael McMahon, St. Paul, MN, and Kathryn "Katie" Sheetz, Grand Rapids, MN
2015 - Justin Goodroad, Lindstrom, MN, and Mary Mikutowski, Stillwater, MN
2014 - Sean Rozell, Eveleth, MN, and Kayla Bellrichard, Elk River, MN
2013 - Dae Yeul "Danny" Lee and Samantha Zuck-Roscoe
2012 - Austin Czichotzki, Barnsville, MN, and Kristine Neu, Pelican Rapids, MN
2011 - Austin Czichotzki, Barnsville, MN, and Tammy Wroblewski, Milwaukee, WI
2010 - Anthony Dank, Sartell, MN, and Eun Hye Kang, Seoul, South Korea
2009 - Erick Elgin, Mora, MN, and Tiffany Benning, Eagle Bend, MN
2008 - Josiah Loll, Campbell, MN and Katie Jeremiason, Marshall, MN
2007 - Mark Belanger, Pequot Lakes, and Theresa Crance, Timber Lake
2004 - Jay Tupa, Fargo, and Cheryl Isder, Little Falls
2003 - Dan Oberg, Isanti, and Cheryl Isder, Little Falls
2002 - Steven Brandt, Kimball, and Dana Prudhomme, Crookston
2001 - Steven Brandt, Kimball, and Luciana Forati, Santa Fe, Argentina
2000 - John Rozek, St. Paul, and Kathleen Bade, Rudolf, WI
1999 - John Rozek, St. Paul, and Christy Ungerecht, Northome
1998 - Korey Hegreberg, Borup, and Karolyn Joop, Borup
1997 - James Johansen, Underwood, and Carol Sand, Avon
1996 - Mark Erickson, Fertile, and Tracy Olson, Newfolden
1995 - Tom Kleven, Cook, and Val Nowacki, Marshall
1994 - Brian Norman, Pine River, and Mia Yliniemi, Frazee
1993 - Cory Mittness, Benson, and Anne Heinze, Belgrade
1992 - Barry Visser, Ada, and Patrice McCann, Verona
1991 - Ron Visser, Ada, and Stephanie Frenzel, Northome
1990 - Michael Curfman, Fosston, and Sherry Larson, Crookston
1989 - Dan Haglund, Baudette, and Becky Davis, LeCenter
1988 - David LeGare, Hector, and Diedra Richardson, Stillwater
1987 - Rob Larson, Bagley, and Linda Hemmesch, Richmond
1986 - Jonathan Aal, Starbuck, and Valerie Strickland, Walterboro, SC
1985 - Frank Branscombe, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and Kristy Seely, Bemidji
1984 - Brian Claseman, Long Prairie, and Anne Gazett, St. Cloud
1983 - Wesley Ehlers, Warroad, and Vickie Keiper, Minneapolis
1982 - Keith Kramer, Ely, and Nancy Iverson, Grafton
1981 - David Ekman, Argyle, and Nancy Kotval, Clarissa
1980 - Philip Larson, Boyd, and Ann Stoll, Dent
1979 - Loel Olson, Karlstad, and Pamela Lanners, Brandon
1978 - Thomas Walker, Sauk Centre, and Cholice Soltau, Maynard
1977 - Gary Borendale, Dawson; David Richter, Vergas; and Geordine Bohrer, So. St. Paul
1976 - Timothy Donovan, Hartland, and Linda Bliss, Park Rapids
1975 - Dale Hoff, Perley, and Marie Dahlgren, Roseau
1974 - Jeffrey Sorenson, Ada, and LuAnn Miller, Balaton
1973 - Cary Sip, Ada, and Carol Carriere, Red Lake Falls
1972 - Darrel Larson, Royalton, and Evelyn Boser, Pierz