Return to: UMC Home


UMC Awards: Ag-Arama True Grit Award

The most coveted of all awards presented at Ag-Arama, the True Grit Award is dedicated to Todd Opsahl, a student in 1973-74.  Most of the students and faculty around Todd did not know that he was suffering from terminal leukemia, a disease that took his life shortly after he left college.

Despite this condition, Todd was extremely active in campus activities, especially in the Agriculture Division where he studied Animal Science.

In his remembrance, the True Grit Award is presented annually to the student who best demonstrated the spirit of Todd Opsahl in active participation and in encouraging others to participate.

Past UMC True Grit Award Recipients

2016 - Luke Lundeby, Osnabrock, ND
2015 - Dylan Pratt, Clarissa, MN
2014 - Victoria Martin, Worland, WY
2013 - Matthew Green, Greenbush, MN
2012   Samantha Lahman, Parker's Prairie, MN
2011    Amanda Thorsvig, Detroid Lakes, MN
2010    Desiree Severance, New York Mills, MN
2009     Kari Hendrixkx, New York Mills, MN
2008    Craig Roerick, Upsala, MN
2007    Kelli Pulford, Richville, MN, Thor Vettleson, Trail, MN., and
           and Gretchen Smeby, Grygla, MN
2006    Alison Stone, Lakeville, MN
2005    Josh Johnson, Hoffman, MN
2004    Karen Ballou, Barnum, MN
2003    Bill Rinkenberger, Fosston, MN
2002    Angie Pommerening, Oakdale, MN
2001    Barb Heinze, Elrosa, MN

2000    Bonnie Haehnel, Motley, MN
1999    Natalie Foltz, Callaway, MN
1998    Angie Roering, Sauk Centre, MN
1997    Julie Jean Schermerhorn, New York Mills, MN
1996    Heather Pohlmeier, Hutchinson, MN
1995    Roberta Shepard, Lester Prairie, MN
1994    Peggy Kruize, Elbow Lake, MN
1993    Nathan Benesh, Crookston, MN
1992    James Kruize, Elbow Lake, MN
1991    Janie Knott, Red Lake Falls, MN
1990    Andy "Stormy" Bates, Red Lake Falls, MN
1989    Theresa Skibicki, Red Lake Falls, MN
1988    Patty Jo Aanerud, Waubun, MN
1987    Rob Larson, Bagley, MN
1986    Shelly Sime, Grand Rapids, MN
1985    Tammy Severts, Gatzke, MN
1984    Barb Lind, Carlton, MN
1983    Shelly Nielsen, Madelia, MN
1982    Dayna Denn, Cold Springs, MN
1981    Roy Bell, Motley, MN & Steve Rinkenberger, Fosston, MN
1980    Sid Henagin, Onamia, MN & Jon Aakre, Rollag, MN
1979    Vicki Janisch, Emo, Ontario, Canada
1978    Scott Bjornson, West Fargo, ND
1977    Glenn Fladmark, Pelican Rapids, MN
1976    Jeff Kratochwill, Blaine, MN